JBaby ICM page

Welcome!

JOHNSON’S® supports midwives who provide essential healthcare for families around the world… and we are proud to support ICM for the largest virtual gathering of midwives ever!


Join us for The Midwife Learning Series brought to you by JOHNSON’S® at the ICM Virtual Triennial Congress, which includes:

  • FIRST TOUCH Infant Massage workshops

  • Parallel scientific sessions

  • Interaction with international experts in infant skin, touch, sleep & more

  • Educational materials & resources you can use

 

FIRST TOUCH Infant Massage Workshop

Midwife Learning Series… brought to you by JOHNSON’S®

Massage is one of the most effective forms of touch and this workshop will explore the benefits of infant massage to both babies and caregivers. The practical aspects of infant massage will be emphasized in the workshop and you can expect to leave the session with the confidence to practice and perform basic techniques and to share what you have learned with others. At the end of this course, you will receive a massage instructional video and educational materials you can use with other midwives and in your practice.

Available at two different times:

16 June 2021 – New York 09:00 / London 14:00 / Singapore 21:00

16 June 2021 – New York 20:30 / London 1:30 (17 June) / Singapore 08:30 (17 June)

Sessions will be simulcast in English, French & Spanish.

Please bring to the workshop:

  • A baby-sized doll OR infant simulator OR rolled soft towels OR a friend / colleague / family member on whose arm you can practice techniques*

  • Hand wipes or antibacterial product to clean hands

  • An emollient (oil or moisturizer formulated for infant skin such as a baby oil or baby lotion)

*Please do not use an infant or child during this workshop. It’s important to learn proper techniques first.

Faculty:

Maria Hernandez-Reif, PhD

Professor, Department of Human Development & Family Studies; Director, Pediatric Development Research Laboratory, The University of Alabama, Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA

Holly Horan, PhD

Assistant Professor, Anthropology, The University of Alabama, Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA

 

Parallel Scientific Sessions

Midwife Learning Series... brought to you by JOHNSON’S®

Please join us for four educational scientific sessions, hosted by international experts in their fields.

Newborn Skin Health Research: Unique differences of infant skin, its microbiome, and how to support normal skin maturation

9 June 2021 - New York 07:30 / London 12:30 / Singapore 19:30

The skin barrier provides important “first line of defense” protection against water loss, irritants, allergens and pathogens, with the skin’s microbiome also acting to modulate the innate immune response of the skin. However, infant skin and its microbiome are different versus adult skin and continue to mature long after birth. Attendees will learn about these important differences, including how mode of birth delivery influences the skin microbiome, and will leave this session understanding critical factors and care routines that can help support normal skin maturation.

Moderator:

Professor Dame Tina Lavender, PhD, MSc, RM, RGN

Professor of Maternal and Newborn Health and Director of the Centre for Childbirth, Women’s and Newborn Health (World Health Organisation Collaborating Centre), Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine

Faculty:

Georgios Stamatas, PhD

Associate Director and Fellow, Emerging Science; Johnson & Johnson France

M. Catherine Mack, PhD

Manager Translational Science, Johnson & Johnson Consumer Products, USA


Newborn Skin Health Research: Implications for care across diverse skin types and conditions

9 June 2021 - New York 13:00 / London 18:00 / Singapore 01:00 (10 June)

A propensity for skin barrier disruption can be associated with sensitive and compromised skin and is also an important factor in atopic dermatitis (AD). AD affects at least one in ten children of all ethnicities, with 45% of AD developing in the first 6 months of life. Research has indicated that dysbiosis of the skin microbiome may play an important role in AD. Attendees will learn about common skin problems across diverse skin types and implications for daily skin management as a critical strategy for care.

Faculty: To be announced


What is appropriate to use on newborn skin? Ingredient science, facts & guidance for midwives

23 June 2021 - New York 07:30 / London 12:30 / Singapore 19:30

Infant skin is still developing and vulnerable, therefore when caregivers advise on skin care products it is important to choose those that have been clinically evaluated to be safe, effective, and designed for infant skin. Information on the internet and other sources may not always be based on evidence. Attendees will learn about ingredient science, myths and facts, how to read and understand labels, and how they can help parents navigate product selection for baby’s care.

Moderator:

Carol Bedwell, PhD

Senior Lecturer at Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine and researcher within the Centre for Childbirth, Women’s and Newborn Health

Faculty:

James Kennedy, MS

Founder of Sincerely, Chemicals, a chemistry outreach initiative; Masters Degree in Natural Sciences, University of Cambridge, UK


Importance of parent-child touch, connection & bonding in a post-pandemic world: how midwives can guide parents to use everyday routines to support healthy baby development

23 June 2021 - New York 13:00 / London 18:00 / Singapore 01:00 (24 June)

Most neurons in the brain are formed in utero, whereas synaptic connections occur through experiences and interactions after birth. By age three, 85% of baby’s brain is developed, highlighting the importance of early nurturing relationships. Mother-baby bonding is essential and everyday care routines provide opportunities for connection, which may be more important than ever in a post-pandemic world. Attendees will reinforce their knowledge on bonding through touch and other sensorial stimulation and learn strategies to help parents optimize care in our “new normal.”

Faculty:

Jodi A. Mindell, PhD, DBSM

Professor of Psychology and Director of Graduate Psychology at Saint Joseph’s University and the Associate Director of the Sleep Center at the Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA

Maria Hernandez-Reif, PhD

Professor, Department of Human Development & Family Studies; Director, Pediatric Development Research Laboratory, The University of Alabama, Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA

Pamela Dalton, PhD, MPH

Senior Research Scientist and Principal Investigator at the Monell Chemical Senses Center, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA


Questions Mothers Ask Midwives Most About Infant Skincare: A Middle East Perspective

30 June 2021 – New York 07:00 / London 12:00 / Singapore 19:00

This interactive session will be guided by an expert panel which will address the questions mothers ask midwives most about infant skin care and routines as they pertain to healthy baby development, including a regional perspective on cultural practices in the Middle East & North Africa. Topics will include an overview of:

  • Infant skin development including its microbiome

  • Everyday routines such as bathing

  • Criteria for product selection including ingredient safety and fragrances

Faculty:

Nawal Abdulghani, PhD, MCM

Assistant Professor, Umm Al-Qura University; Registered Nurse-Midwife, Saudi Arabia

Ibtesam Omar Jahlan, PhD, BSN

Assistant Professor and Vice Chairperson, Department of Maternal and Child Health Nursing, King Saud University College of Nursing, Saudi Arabia

Dr. Wafaa Faysal, MD

Head of the Department of Pediatrics and Consultant Pediatrician, Dr. Sulaiman Al Habib Hospital, Dubai, UAE

 

JOHNSON’S® & AVEENO® Baby Virtual Exhibit

Please join us at our virtual exhibit each day of the live congress!

EXPLORE educational information on healthy baby development, infant skin and more!

VIEW interesting and useful materials and videos.

COLLECT Information and tips useful to your practice.

DISCOVER the latest innovation and science behind our family of baby skincare products.

ASK QUESTIONS on your mind with one of our scientific or product representatives, either by text chat or video chat, the next best thing to being face-to-face!